SouthBay BMW
Complaint 230134 Details

  • Date Occurred: 04/08/2013
  • Reported Damages: $8,000.00
  • Location: 18800 Hawthorne Blvd Torrance Calif90504
  • !

The complaint is against an online dating profile

The complaint is a listing fraud posted on public forums or sites against an anonymous entity

The complaint is mobile text spam or smishing related against an anonymous entity

The company or person contact no longer exists

International boundaries

First: I own a 1995 BMW 318ti and I was hit April 1 2010, by a hit and run driver. I decided at that time not to drive the car any longer and completely restore the car. I first had the car towed to Leimert Top and Body Shop and had all dents, and door repaired, I then had the car towed to Euro Auto Repair to begin on Engine rebuilding.
I never drove the car again because this was a very costly process. Once the car was returned to Leimert Top and Body Shop I was informed that the fan was not working. This was the second time the Fan or fan’s motor stopped. The first time was in 2007 and the place where I purchased the car (Eden Motors) replaced the Fan and radiator.
The car was moved back to Euro Auto Repair and a catalytic converter was replaced, water pump and fan. The owner of Euro Auto Repair suggest that the fan on my car was not correct, and it should be a manual, he also told me that I could check with the dealer but he was sure that my year 1995 car should have a manual fan and not an electric fan on it.
I told him I would check but right now replace all the part you can ;( The car was not completed, no tags and was not driving it.) Now by this time we were in the beginning of 2012. I then had the car sent back to Leimert Top and Body for the paint job. By this time it is the latter part of 2012 and after the paint job, I had paid for registration but my car would not pass the smog test. Euro Auto Repair replaced two sensors, one I know for sure is named air flow meter the other I am not sure of but if you can read the writing, you will see it on the receipt.
Once the engine work was totally completed, I then had the entire interior work done. I had after market lights put on the car in November 2012, and an alarm put on the car on February 1, 2013. On that day the fan stopped again, which meant that time was the third time it had stopped and I recalled what the owner of Euro Auto Repair had said to me regarding the fan. I worker at the audio center checked the fuses, and found a relay switch burned out once he removed it the fan work oddly. I told him that is ok just as long as it works long enough for me to get it to a Dealership.
I felt since my car is a BMW, who should know better about a BMW than a BMW dealership. On February 2 2013, I drove the car to South Bay BMW and explained the issue I was having with the fan and asked them to check to see if I need a major tune-up. Well I was called about 10 days later and an estimate that was $635.88 had now turned into a bill of $6444.24. The amount the Service Manager told me to bring eventhough the actual bill state $6361.24 I was upset but my car is paid for I have the title and that would mean I would not need to be buying another car soon my would be completely restored and the fan would be repaired, so I thought.
March 11, 2013 I was right back with the same problem, fan not working and another huge list of items they claim my car needed. This time I believe the bill was something like $400.00 the actual bill is in my car’s glove box and today is April 3, 2013 and my car is at the Dealer.
The Mechanic began to blame the lights, I told him no, that is not the problem; I knew the fan had gone out two time prior. Once again, my car needed something new. No matter what the problem was, the problem was never the parts that they had put on the car that was under their warranty, it was always something new. I told them my car’s engine is fine but they act as if I was a liar and drug dealer and my parts were stolen or not on the car at all.
I began to be upset; wondering was South Bay actually doing anything to my car because after charging me $266.40 for repair of the third brake light, the very same day a friend asked me if I had gotten it fix. I told him yeah, my friend said that my third light was not working. My friend came from his car, got into my car and pressed on the brake pedal. I called South Bay and asked what is going on, does their mechanic check the work if so he should had know that the third brake light was not working and why was I charged for it?
I took the car back the next day and listened to an explanation that did not really make the situation better. Once the mechanic brought my car back to me, the headlights did not work any longer, I told them (Kevin Smuckler) that my lights were working fine until they (the mechanic did whatever they have been doing.) Now I listen to the story of the After Market Light was messing up the fan, I was still aware of the owner at Euro Auto Shop had said regarding the fan and not once did anyone at South Bay BMW mention anything about the fan need to be replaced with the correct type.
I explained the them that that could not be it because it had happened years prior to the lights and again months before the lights. The Mechanic then said the fuse size was incorrect. I said ok I took my car home and parked it I did not use the Headlights at all I did not drive at night (that night).
I believe it was March 17, my car began to run hot again in the daytime, but this time it was unusual, and the hoses burst. They claimed that had replaced a thermostat switch but a few days and I called and spoke with Angie and explained that now the heater will not get hot, so if they replaced the switch, my heater should work, it was working before they claimed to fix a switch that they said was stuck.
On the 18 my car was shot to hell, they had managed to charge me over $7,000.00 and all they had done was destroyed my car. I took that car to them three times for the same reason, and each time they had a song and dance and never fixed anything.
On 03/22/2013 Kevin Smuckler called my cell phone and told me that the charge would be $3,000 because they had to remove the head, and replace the head gasket .( I sent you photos of the work Eruo Auto Body had already done).
I was at the air port, and I had a loaner car, I agreed to it because I felt as if I was being stranded and I didn’t want to let that mess up my trip. On 03/27/2013 Kevin Smuckler call my home number and told me that I had a cracked head and it was at that time I told I do not care what the problem is you people better find out how to fix it. I came to you three time for the fan and everything thing I did not need was put or claimed to be put on that car and the fan was never fix. I told Kevin I was going tell on everyone that had something to do with my car being in the shape it is right now. I refuse to pay you people any more money. I agreed to the $3,000.00 but the stuff that they are doing has no end to it.
Today is 04/03/2013 and I have not heard from them again yet, I am contacting you because South Bay BMW charged me over $10,000.00 and my car have never been fixed and now is not drivable; although my car was drivable the first day I drove it to South Bay BMW.
I need your help, because if they want me to get a new car. I am suggesting that you tell them, South Bay BMW to either repair my car without any further charges and/or give some sort of refund back to me or just freely give me a new car of my choice because I sure as hell have paid for one.

Thank You

Warren T. (Personal Information Removed)
(Personal Information Removed) Home
(Personal Information Removed) Cell
(Personal Information Removed)

Do You Have a Complaint?

Submit a Complaint


There are no comments posted. Be the first to comment on this complaint

Do You Have a Complaint?

Add a complaint and spread the word. High volume complaints have a better chance to get their money back. Submit a report and join forces with others like you!

Submit a Complaint Now

Business Profile Summary

  • SouthBay BMW logo

Company Statistics

  • Complaint Against SouthBay BMW
  • Complaints Filed: 2
  • Reported Damages: $18,000.00
Visit Complete Company Profile

What is SBID?

SBID is a unique id code that identifies the user's computer and location. SBID is used to prevent fraudulent postings and help our community find users who create duplicate user accounts.