Miller Motte Technical College
Complaint 68714 Details

  • Date Occurred: 11/09/2011
  • Reported Damages: $8,000.00
  • !

The complaint is against an online dating profile

The complaint is a listing fraud posted on public forums or sites against an anonymous entity

The complaint is mobile text spam or smishing related against an anonymous entity

The company or person contact no longer exists

International boundaries

I went to miller motte for 1 and 1/2 semesters. They lied to the entire school about their accreditations. They're not regionally accredited, thus I wouldn't be able to get a job once I graduated.One of their own teachers even told me this. When I withdrew, the financial aid office told me I owed $8 which my loan and financial aid didn't cover. Then they send me and other students letters in the mail saying we owe the school approximately $1700.00. In the letter they don't give a reason why,it just says "this may be due to an oversight on your part." I called the school and they told me it was because I dropped out before the 60% mark, which is a lie because when I was withdrawing the financial aid lady looked at the calendar and told me I would be ok because I was right at the 60%mark.I asked her why didn't the financial aid department advise students of this and she told me because "they don't know," I'm sorry but isn't that their job, to know these things?? Now I'm in a "real" college and I can't get financial aid because MM won't release my transcripts. I'm a single mother,out of work, trying to provide a better life for myself and my daughter. I've been making all A's so far but I'm probably going to have to drop out without being able to obtain financial aid.

Do You Have a Complaint?

Submit a Complaint

Comments

  • carlee12
  • carlee12 SBID #29d71e4079
  • Posted 03/06/2012
  • Fran, I was a former student of MMTC too, in Madison. Can you contact me please I have something important to share with you, and you can be free from what they did to you also..
  • Was this helpful?
  • fran
  • fran SBID #bfe0576ebb
  • Posted 03/06/2012
  • Sure Carlee, I'd love to hear what you have to say! A friend of mine stayed there 6 wks longer than I did and he already owes 20,000.00. When I signed up, they gave me an estimate of 31,000 for 2 yrs. and he and I have the same major in the same amount of time! Its crazy! I'd love to hear what you have to say though....I need all the help I can get!!! Thanks!
  • Was this helpful?
  • carlee12
  • carlee12 SBID #29d71e4079
  • Posted 03/07/2012
  • Please send me an email (Personal Information Removed), I can help you and your friend I have a great lawyer they scammed me big time, I also can send you emails on where they were shut down in N.C. by the FBI for the exact same thing they have done to us.. I will send you my phone number through my yahoo email.. I want to help all the students I can that got ripped off. You will not have to owe anything..
  • Was this helpful?
  • carlee12
  • carlee12 SBID #29d71e4079
  • Posted 03/08/2012
  • Fran ,
    I want to help you and your friend and all the others that you might know about I updated my info on here and sent my personal email I hope you get it just send me a message so I can send you my attorney's info he is helping me and wants to help anyone else I find that this school has ripped off. they got 32,000.00 in my name saying that I enrolled in a 2 year assoc.degree which they changed 2 days before my class started to a diploma program telling me that the state had taken some required classes away so it made the 2 year degree to change. but they didnt report to the federal aide so they applied all this money in names of students without them knowing about it, I am having something done about it, because in North Carolina they had been shut down by the FBI for misusing students names to obtain loans and grants without the student being aware of what they were doing.. they are trying to get me for 8,000.00 for 19 days of classes..

  • Was this helpful?
  • fedupmca
  • fedupmca SBID #8299ceb621
  • Posted 03/29/2012
  • HELP!!!!!!!!! I feel like I'm in a bad dream. I am enrolled at MM in Conway SC and just learned today that I was approved for 25,000 in fa and my "net funding" is 15,000, but they don't issue the remainder for housing and travel expenses. Is this legal? Someone help please!
  • Was this helpful?
  • fran
  • fran SBID #c10c5a2df4
  • Posted 04/03/2012
  • fedupmca get out NOW!!!! The "college" is a total scam, even their own previous employees a.k.a. sales sharks have admitted to their illegal and unethical practices. Contact carlee12 asap! She can get you in touch with an attorney who is starting a class action lawsuit against the school. There are several other students from all over the country who have also been defrauded by these thieves.
  • Was this helpful?
  • jenn97
  • jenn97 SBID #95a2f5b964
  • Posted 05/29/2012
  • MMTC IN MADISON,TN IS THE SAME. I HAVE EVERYTHING IN BLACK AND WHITE ON SO MANY THINGS THEY HAVE DONE TOO ME AND MY SON. FROM MESSING WITH MY PELL TO TAKING A LOAN OUT IN SOMEONES NAME IN MY FILE. I WAS IN THE OFFICES SO MUCH CALLING THEM OUT ON IT. IM SICK OF THEM. I EVEN GOT DELTA INVOLVED. I DONT HAVE MUCH LONGER AND MY SON IS OUT AFTER THIS QUARTER.I'LL BE GLAD WHEN THIS NIGHTMARE IS OVER. AND I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE.. WE ALL KNOW HOW THE HALLS BUZZ. ITS AWFUL. THEY HAVE CAUSED SO MUCH STRESS FROM THE SCHOOL TO MY HOME. I WISH SOMEONE WOULD INVESTIGATE THEM. I PROMISE THEY WILL FIND TONS ON THEM. I GOT ENOUGH ON PAPER TO LOCK THE DOORS. BUT, I DONT HAVE THE MONEY TO SUE AND THEY KNOW IT. THATS THE PROBLEM. BUT I HAVE A LIST OF PEOPLE THAT HAVE COMPLAINTS ON THEM THAT I KNOW. NOT INCLUDING THE ONES THEY KNOW. THIS SHOULD NOT BE ALOUD.
  • Was this helpful?
  • carlee12
  • carlee12 SBID #4308f3a099
  • Posted 05/30/2012
  • Jenn97 Please contact me I have an attorney, already, and it will not cost you anything, He will take your case I am in Hendersonville, TN and also went to MM in Madison and they tried the same thing with me, I busted them, my attorney right now has about 7 former MM students who we all show fraudulant activity with the FED GOV as well with the Stafford Loans, and other loans they had taken out in student names without the consent of the students.. I was almost scammed so bad it is unbelieveable, So you can sue right now My atty. Is in Hendersonville contact me and I will give you his info, it also looks like a class action will be filed very soon. just so you know. my email is (Personal Information Removed) I will send you mt phone number through my email.. take care and I will talk to you soon.
  • Was this helpful?
  • shugasgirl
  • shugasgirl SBID #353a34a7ae
  • Posted 08/23/2012
  • We are in SC also, and are students at MMTC. We are appalled by the ethical practices of MMTC. Can someone please contact us regarding this school. We have an entire department being scammed currently.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Jayden2010
  • Jayden2010 SBID #adf428b33c
  • Posted 09/06/2012
  • I am going through the same problem can someone please help me with the attorney information. I just need the money back that I have to pay now that I did not even use.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Tina
  • Tina SBID #353a34a7ae
  • Posted 09/19/2012
  • carlee12 can you help me as well?

    I have been attending MMTC for a year and almost 6 months now. ever since i started they have been unorganized and going back and forth on their word. Now i am about to be done. when i first started the only had the AOS program for massage, well then they had a certificate and now a modular program. well i am trying to be transferred to the certificate b/c i found out none of their general education classes transfer, and some stuff with my aid, in which if they make me stay in the AOS program i will have another 10,000 in loans b/c they are claiming they can not switch me in the system which i think is a crock of BS! i have done all the classes required and there is no reason i can not drop down to a certificate. i believe they are tryin to scam and force me to take these extra classes to get more money out of me. i have just taken this up to coroprate as well. i can go into further detail to about what i had just recently found out about my aid! which is BS too!
  • Was this helpful?
  • Shock-town
  • Shock-town SBID #28870e988e
  • Posted 10/02/2012
  • Can Carlee12 please contact me too I live in White House and would love to talk to your lawyer. I have been going round and round with Miller Motte since aug 2010. They are screwing my daughter over and I'm ready to sue. my husband suggested calling Phil Williams on News channel 5 Please get in touch with me. I think I got your email from a ripoff website idk of this site will let me post my email on here but you can reach me at (Personal Information Removed). Thank you
  • Was this helpful?
  • Shock-town
  • Shock-town SBID #28870e988e
  • Posted 10/02/2012
  • We went I. Front of the school review board last week to get her re-entered and today got a letter declining her re-entry. She only lacks 62 hours to taking her state board exam for cosmetology and the letter stated she can re-apply Jan 2013 I believe this is so they can recharge for the classes they have already charged her for. We were VERY clear when she signed up that she had 600 hours transferring from high school and she wasn't going for a degree she only wanted to attend the 900 hours needed to obtain her license. They said no problem sign here.. NOW they say since she isn't wanting a degree (additional 400 hours) and $4-5 k she can not re enroll to get her needed hours. She can only transfer 700 of the 1432 she has earned and paid for and then some. They were taking unsubsidized and subsidized loans out in her name with out her permission and I was calling weekly to make them refund they loans. I need help or we will have wasted $14-15 k for NOTHING!!!!!
  • Was this helpful?
  • camored
  • camored SBID #a6242a83db
  • Posted 11/07/2012
  • I need a copy of my transcripts from Miller-Motte Online and from the Greenville NC campus. Online says I owe a balance for books that were not returned, yet they were shipped back with the very label Miller0Motte sent me.
  • Was this helpful?
  • NinjaPunk
  • NinjaPunk SBID #3261bf2021
  • Posted 11/28/2012
  • Just escaped from MMTC today after almost one semester completed, they essentially robbed me of my stipend, now am in financial bind because of it. They made an error which they admitted to which caused them to keep all of my stipend. I withdrew and enrolled somewhere else. But if possible please send me info in regards to the MMTC Class Action lawsuit. Thanks.
  • Was this helpful?
  • yournamehere
  • yournamehere SBID #84cb5b9656
  • Posted 01/22/2013
  • carlee12 Please help us too. I attend the MMTC in Conway, SC and we are being screwed in more ways than one. First, we have to pay $1,000 and something out of pocket for classes we don't need. Which means we will graduate with 260 hours more than what we need, and we must attend we can't quit once we have our hours. In addition, there was a class we was suppose to take when we first started school in last January, but they told us we didn't need it. So when we asked if we could get our money back for that class they wait and tell us 2 semesters before that we need the class and can't graduate without it. Some of us are unable to take the class because we live an hour or more away or because we have jobs and families. Also, As far as our refund checks they hold it for so long or they send them back without notifying us and when you go to financial aid everyone is telling a different story or doesn't know what is going on. In addition, some students accounts are being charged double in tuition. Please, we need your help!!!!!!!!!!
  • Was this helpful?
  • NinjaPunk
  • NinjaPunk SBID #3261bf2021
  • Posted 01/25/2013
  • In respone to: YOURNAMEHERE...That is the MMTC I also attended the one in Conway, South Carolina. The left hand does not know what the right hand is doing there. Recently I received a bill from them for almost $300! When I tried to call the person who sent me the letter I was told that person no longer works there and they have threatened to but it on my credit report! Aren't these the people who kept my stipend because THEY screwed up my schedule and want to charge me more. I am now attending HGTC where I am taking the same major but for half the money and less credit hours and an ACCREDITED school (another MMTC LIE!) I also have to take another course again that I took at MMTC because LIE#2 their credits do NOT transfer!!! YOU CAN ESCAPE! I did. Now I am trying via Craigslist to sell all my crap from there the scrubbs that were the worst and their portfolio that no reputable company would take seriously if you tried to get a job there because there's a big MMTC logo. MMTC are frauds and liars! I would love to be a part of this class action law suit also because MMTC destroyed my fiances and have caused a problem in my living arragements.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Layah
  • Layah SBID #a1ce564add
  • Posted 05/01/2013
  • i am having more then a little bit of problems with the Conway mmtc.i noticed some people where saying they knew of attorneys in the area who already may have an open case.could someone please give me a phone number to the attorney or his name.it would be greatly appreciated.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Jessica
  • Jessica SBID #c7270f0969
  • Posted 07/23/2013
  • I also need to get in contact with charlee12. The Clarksville, TN Miller-Motte has not only robbed me of tons of money, they're also keeping my transcript so I can't go to a PROPER college. I feel powerless, and hopeless, and need all the help I can get.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Jenna
  • Jenna SBID #dffa46cb43
  • Posted 07/24/2013
  • I am having a similar problem with them. I have emailed the corporate site as well as my local news. I'd love any advice anyone has.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Jenna
  • Jenna SBID #dffa46cb43
  • Posted 07/24/2013
  • carlee12 my email is (Personal Information Removed) please contact me if you can.
  • Was this helpful?

  • This Comment was edited by the System Administrator for listing personal information. For a full list of our Terms of Service, please visit: Terms and Conditions


  • Jennifer
  • Jennifer SBID #f5eac80eb6
  • Posted 12/03/2013
  • Hey, has anyone heard from carlee12? I have need to speak with her ASAP. MMC in Raleigh, NC has billed me $4000 for attending their school for only 3 weeks. I attended from January 2013 to Feb 7, 2013. I moved home on Feb 12, 2013 back to Jacksonville, NC. When I withdrew my advisor named Zachary told me I wouldn't be charged or billed for anything because it was before the mark period!!!!! I'm highly upset. I refuse to pay this. It's non sense. Please someone give me some info. Thanks!!!!!

    Jennifer
  • Was this helpful?
  • Jessica
  • Jessica SBID #f1c1fea6be
  • Posted 01/22/2014
  • Can anyone inform me how to go about this MMTC Class Action lawsuit that everyone is talking about? I went to Miller-Motte Augusta, GA location. When I was registering they informed me that they were an accredited school (which I later learned was a LIE!) They also informed me if I was to transfer out that their credits would transfer, which IS NOT THE CASE!!!! (they do NOT transfer!!!) Also, on a side note the one year that I was there only one teacher showed up on time and actually taught all the others showed up super late, if they showed up at all and just talked about whatever (via what was on TV, news, or what they wanted for their birthday) Oh, I also payed out the butt for books and had to open them to be sure I had the right one (or three)for the class and then NEVER used them again. I owe them money and do not feel that I should pay them completely back. I am trying to enroll in another school, but need their transcripts to start (though the credits will not transfer) and they will not release due to money owed. What can I do?! PLEASE HELP ME!!!!
  • Was this helpful?

Do You Have a Complaint?

Add a complaint and spread the word. High volume complaints have a better chance to get their money back. Submit a report and join forces with others like you!

Submit a Complaint Now

Business Profile Summary

  • Miller Motte Technical College logo

Company Statistics

  • Complaint Against Miller Motte Technical College
  • Complaints Filed: 26
  • Reported Damages: $408,285.00
Visit Complete Company Profile

What is SBID?

SBID is a unique id code that identifies the user's computer and location. SBID is used to prevent fraudulent postings and help our community find users who create duplicate user accounts.