FlirtHookup, FlirtLocal, XMeeting, XSocial
Complaint 290313 Details

  • Date Occurred: 12/01/2013
  • Reported Damages: $119.85
  • Location: Guernsey Channel Islands
  • !

The complaint is against an online dating profile

The complaint is a listing fraud posted on public forums or sites against an anonymous entity

The complaint is mobile text spam or smishing related against an anonymous entity

The company or person contact no longer exists

International boundaries

It all started when I came across the site XMeeting last week. I joined under the illusion that it was only $19.95 for three months. When I got the billing email back, they had charged me $59.95- a sum which was hidden away from me and carefully worded in the Terms and Conditions to catch me out.

Because I live in the UK, the exchange rate isn't too bad and so I thought I'd give it a go, since it was evident that I wasn't going to get my money back.

A user on the site- hollymartin from Liverpool, UK- gave me a link in an email, which redirected me to FlirtHookup, telling me to search for "sxyluv30". The email from which she sent it to me was "crazychick@citymail.org" (an email adress I've since learned is known to others because of the same reason).

I was horrified and troubled to learn that this site had already obtained my details from XMeeting and refused to let me use their search details unless I subscribed. I surfed around the site for a bit to see if it seemed credible and, learning from my past mistake, I selected only a one month's contract, rather than a three months' at $29.95 (which isn't that much in British Sterling).

Without making me aware, I clicked a link to pay, which redirected me to FlirtLocal, and unknowingly, I subscribed to FlirtLocal instead- the name was almost the same and the site layout too and so I was duped of just under thirty dollars. The Terms and Conditions being watertight, it seems obvious that I won't see that money again.

I first found this out when I received an email from FlirtLocal regarding my payment. Long story short- I had paid for all three websites (FlirtHookup, FlirtLocal and XMeeting) for a total of $119.85 (I'm sure I've done the maths right).

I emailed this "sxyluv30" back on my emails and told her my problems finding her and she sent me another link which redirected to something called XSocial- which I didn't subscribe to (I'd learned my lesson and worked the scam out) but which I saw had my details too- all sites have my picture and XSocial won't let me delete it or remove information.

I suppose you can't get me some of that money back but it would be great if you could try. If not, then seeing some justice would be amazing.

Thanks for your time and I eagerly await your response.
(Personal Information Removed)

Do You Have a Complaint?

Submit a Complaint

Comments

  • Tony
  • Tony SBID #1a2b90a276
  • Posted 12/25/2013
  • Too funny. I was to search for sxyluv30 also. but she wanted me to go to yourcupidmatches.com. 'Her' email was tracy.scott@citymail.org. This is a TOTAL scam and probably very illegal but likely offshore but wow. That person emailed me today, ON CHRISTMAS trying to scam....steal and deceive on Christmas. God don't like ugly.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Terry
  • Terry SBID #f865ac0489
  • Posted 12/28/2013
  • Hello, has anyone else had any dealings with " "tracy.scot@citymail.org" in particular does anyone know where "she"" is supposed to live? I have been contacted by email, and urged to join a couple of different sites but without having done so. "She" pretends that emails arriving in her in box have no message body to them, only the address and title, hence the reason to direct one to join these other sites to get to I.M. and make "contact" hoping there are others who have some experience with this one. Terry.
  • Was this helpful?
  • John
  • John SBID #fa1409a6bb
  • Posted 12/29/2013
  • I received an e-mail from Athena19 who directed me to "hit her up" at looking4something@citymail.org and after 2 hours of searching e-mail verification sites i found that there is no such address available on or in any domain commonly used. I even looked up "citymail.org" and she did not exist there either. Oh the originating site for Athena19, is also from Flirthookup.com, how interesting is that? This woman is supposedly from Boston so becareful of her!
  • Was this helpful?
  • Nik
  • Nik SBID #0af66aa28f
  • Posted 01/11/2014
  • Well to the poster of this complaint, their billing cycle says word for word, I just copied and pasted it...
    "3 Month Membership
    $19.98/month
    Renews at $19.98/month after expiring.
    Billed in one installment of $59.95"
    19.98 x 3 = 59.95, so that part seems sound enough for me. As for the rest, it seems like you did get scroogled. I was just contacted by supposed profile sending me a this email crazychick@citymail.org, I'm not even going to tempt it.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Jamie
  • Jamie SBID #2e43927c2a
  • Posted 01/15/2014
  • Thats so crazy..
    I received an e-mail for xmeeting today which I clicked on and found they had made an account FOR me 3 months ago with none of my details and half my e-mail as a username..
    within 5 minutes of making a real account i liked this one girl who sent me a message telling me to e-mail her on 'crazybutreal@citymail.org' I googled 'citymail.org' cause I'd never heard of it and I found this website..
    Suffice to say I no longer trust this e-mail..
  • Was this helpful?
  • Bryan
  • Bryan SBID #179c758d8f
  • Posted 01/16/2014
  • I created an account on flirtlocal.com, through which someone contacted me and asked me to email looking4love@citymail.org. I decided to research citymail.org before sending any messages there. I came upon this site, and also found WHOIS data. citymail.org is registered to Agile Investment Group in Belize. Some scammers are apparently using the citymail.org service to lure people into other pay sites. I would guess the scammers either work for these other sites or they get an affiliate payment for referring paying customers.
  • Was this helpful?

Do You Have a Complaint?

Add a complaint and spread the word. High volume complaints have a better chance to get their money back. Submit a report and join forces with others like you!

Submit a Complaint Now

Business Profile Summary

  • FlirtHookup, FlirtLocal, XMeeting, XSocial logo

Company Statistics

  • Complaint Against FlirtHookup, FlirtLocal, XMeeting, XSocial
  • Complaints Filed: 2
  • Reported Damages: $149.80
Visit Complete Company Profile

What is SBID?

SBID is a unique id code that identifies the user's computer and location. SBID is used to prevent fraudulent postings and help our community find users who create duplicate user accounts.