Procyon Instruments LTD (fake name Rebecca Miller)
Complaint 156642 Details

  • Date Occurred: 09/12/2012
  • Reported Damages: $0.00
  • Username: procyoninstruments
  • Email: procyoninstruments@gmx.us
  • Location: 14, Hillcrest Rd, London , W3 9RZ

The complaint is against an online dating profile

The complaint is a listing fraud posted on public forums or sites against an anonymous entity

The complaint is mobile text spam or smishing related against an anonymous entity

The company or person contact no longer exists

International boundaries

This scam is the same as the one filed against "Rhonda". Here're the emails, with my identity removed:

From: Procyon Instruments <procyoninstruments@gmx.us>
To: <identity removed>
Sent: Wednesday, September 12, 2012 6:33 PM
Subject: RE: [1] Careerbuilder: Procyon - I have an Open Position in your area


Hello <identity removed>,

My name is Rebecca Miller and I'm a recruiter at Procyon Instruments Ltd. We
have your resume on file from Careerbuilder and I thought you may be
interested in an opportunity we currently have available for a FINANCIAL
REPRESENTATIVE. This is a 1 year contract which has a chance to be extended.

I see that your background may be a good fit; I have included the job
description below and look forward to hearing from you as soon as possible.
We are constantly on the lookout for professionals to fulfill the staffing
needs of our clients, and we currently have a job opening that may interest
you. Below is a summary of the position.

Job Title: FINANCIAL REPRESENTATIVE
Location: Anywhere (work from home)
Duration: 12 Months (can be extended)
Part time/Full time (you can keep the actual job)

Our company is the leading independent Medical Equipment Suppliers of nearly
every conceivable medical and healthcare product. In addition we supply a
comprehensive range of Laboratory equipment and Pharmaceuticals throughout
the UK and internationally.

Our after sales service is second to none. We have been supplying and
offering Medical and Electrical products to the UK's leading Healthcare
Institutions Occupational Health and Safety Industries for a number of
years, now, with well over 70 000 products on our data base only for
hospitals and clinics.

Our services & products: back supports, bandages, blood pressure monitors,
care beds, defibrillators, diagnostic equipment, disposable aprons,
disposable gloves, first aid kits, first aid supplies, hoists, hospital
equipment incontinence products medical equipment, medical hoists,
nebulizers, nursing supplies, orthopedic chairs, orthopedic footwear,
orthopedic products, spirometers, slings, stethoscopes, surgical
instruments, surgical supplies, tens machines, ECGS, ultrasounds, Audio
Meters, Ciroyooacuacgrio surgery, Dermatology Dopple's, pharmaceutical
Products, pharmaceutical equipment's, Pharmacy Fridges, Nursing Uniforms.

Job Description:

We have sales representatives all over the world to distribute our products.
You know, that it's not easy to start a business in a new market (being the
US). There are hundreds of competitors, close direct contacts between
suppliers and customers and other difficulties, which impede our sales
promotion. We have decided to deliver the products upfront, it's very risky
but it should push up sales on 25 percent. Thus we need to get payments for
our products as soon as it possible.

Unfortunately we are unable to open Bank Accounts in the United US without
first registering the company name. Presently with the amount of Orders we
have, we cannot put them on hold for fear of losing the customers out
rightly. We cannot cash these payments from the US soon enough, as
international Checks take about 14 working days for cash to be made
available. We lose about 75,000 USD of net income each month because we have
money transfer delays. Your task is to coordinate payments from customers
and help us with the payment process. You are not involved in any sales; we
make direct contact for sales of products. Once orders are received and
sorted we deliver the product to a customer (usually through FEDEX). The
customer receives and checks the products. After this has been done the
customer has to pay for the products. About 90 percent of our customers
prefer to pay through Certified Checks and Money orders based on the amount
involved. We have decided to open this new job position for solving this
problem.

The average monthly income is about 6000.00 USD
No form of investments from you.
This job takes only 1-3 hours per day

Your tasks are:

1. Receive payment from Customers. All orders will be written in your name.
All orders are US orders, no international.
2. Cash Payment at your Bank
3. Deduct 10% which will be your percentage/pay on Payment processed
4. Forward balance after deduction of percentage/pay to any of the offices
Payment is to be forwarded either by Western Union Money Transfer) or any
Local Money transfers take barely hours, so it will give us a possibility to
get customer's payment almost immediately.

You receive 10% for every order processed + bonus!

After you cash a check you need to send us 90% of the total amount and also
deduct all the fees that are related to this job, (fees, commissions etc.)
from our part. You never pay anything out of your own money.

SALARY: Up to $100,000. Annual net starting salary of $21,600 ($1,800.00
monthly paid in monthly installments by your choice of check or direct
deposit.

The first salary will be sent to you when 30 days have passed since signing
with us.

Upfront Commissions: 10% from the value of each order you process.
Average net income from commissions is usually around $6000 per month. This
is a commission based job, the faster you process orders the more your
income will increase.
Performance Bonuses: Up to 40% of your annual gross salary, paid
quarterly by your choice of check or direct deposit. There are also bonuses
for processing each order, by period of time:
Process order in the same day and receive $150 bonus.
Process order within 24 hours and receive $100 bonus.
Process order within 48 hours and receive $50 bonus.

BENEFITS: Standard, provided benefits for salaried-exempt employees,
including the following:

Annual stock options
Health, dental, life and disability insurance
Profit sharing
Sick leave
Education reimburse

After two months of working with us, a secondary bonus will apply. You get
15% from all our sales. If everything works as we will expect and it will,
you be able to do up to $4,800 - $5,200 per week + $1,800 every month.

For example you've got 3000.00 USD, you take your income: $300.00 USD Send
to us:2700.00 USD, First month you will have 15-20 transactions on
3000.00-4000.00 USD so you may calculate your income. For example 18
transactions on 3500.00 USD give you $6300.00 USD Plus your basic monthly
salary is 1000.00 USD Total: 7300.00 USD per month after establishing a
close co-operation with us you'll be able to operate with larger orders and
you'll be able to earn more. Our payments will be issued out in your name
and you can have them cashed in your bank or other Cashing services. Deduct
your weekly salary and forward the balance to the company via western union
money transfer we understand it is an unusual and incredible job position.
This job takes only 3-7 hours per week. You'll have a lot of free time doing
another job; you'll get good income and regular job. But this job is very
challenging and you should understand it.

You only pay taxes for the money you earn (10% from total amount). At the
end of the year we will provide you all forms and papers to prove that you
sent the money to us like we said.

Our company is a respectable one and we just want to launch our products to
the US MARKET not defrauding our employees and customers so you can rest
assured that nothing is illegal.

WE WON'T need any of your private information, such as bank account, SSN,
Mother Maiden Name or anything. We will need only your address, email and
phone numbers where you can be reached. The address is needed so we can let
our customers know where to send the checks.

We are looking only for the worker who satisfies our requirements and will
be an earnest assistant. We are glad to offer this job position to you. If
you feel that you are a serious and earnest worker and you want to work for
us, kindly email us and let us know about what your interest is.

New offices will be opened in United States, as we recently launched our
products to the US Market and most of our customers and we had a big impact
working with US Customers. The estimated timeframe for opening the new
offices is between 6 to 8 months. This is why we are trying to find someone
capable to help us administrate all the US Area.

Best Regards,
Rebecca Miller
Human Resources
Procyon Instruments Ltd
14, Hillcrest Rd, London , W3 9RZ
FAX 020 8993 8180
FAX 020 8993 8080

Copyright © 2012 Procyon Instruments. All rights reserved.

From: <identity removed>
Sent: Wednesday, September 12, 2012 8:51 PM
To: procyoninstruments@gmx.us
Subject: Re: Careerbuilder: Procyon - I have an Open Position in your area

Hi Rebecca,

Thank you for contacting me. I'm not sure what the position entails given
the limited information on your company. The only procyon I found is in FL.
Could you please provide some detail or your phone number?
Thanks,
<identity removed>

From: Rebecca Miller <CandidateEmail@Site.Careerbuilder.com>
To: Rebecca Miller <CandidateEmail@Site.Careerbuilder.com>
Sent: Wednesday, September 12, 2012 5:14 AM
Subject: Careerbuilder: Procyon - I have an Open Position in your area












CareerBuilder: Career Opportunity - FINANCIAL REPRESENTATIVE


DearCandidate,

Procyon is seeking a FINANCIAL REPRESENTATIVE.
Reference ID FINANCIAL REPRESENTATIVE - FR KD4-922813

Position Details:
Position Details
Client:
Procyon
Job Location:
Anywhere
Job Title:
FINANCIAL REPRESENTATIVE
Job Duration:
12 months (Possible extension)
Job Responsibilities:
Job Summary:
Computer experience
Checking emails daily
US citizen or permanent residence/green card holder
Honesty, responsibility and promptness in operations
Self-motivated and capable of working independently
Required Travel: NO
No Sales
21 years +

What we offer:

· VERY competitive salary (plus a Bonus)
· 401(k) retirement plan with matching contributions.
· Vehicle purchase program.
· $85,000 - $95,000 per year
· Vacation (3 weeks for Exempt employees)
· Large and stable corporation
· Fix salary after first month
· No contact with our clients
· Opportunities for career advancement.
· There is no cost to you for this service



Please review the job description below. If you are qualified and
interested in pursuing this opportunity, please send me an e-mail. In
considering candidates, time is of the essence, so please respond ASAP. If
you do not feel like you are a good fit, but you know someone, perhaps
junior to you, who is looking for a temporary assignment without a heavy
skill set required, please feel free to forward this email onto them.

If you are not currently seeking employment, or if you would prefer I
contact you at some later date, please indicate your date of availability so
that I may honor your request. In any event, I respectfully recommend you
continue to avail yourself to the employment options and job market
information we provide with our e-mail notices.

Please, only interested candidates need reply to this email.

Sincerely,
Rebecca Miller
Procyon


You are receiving this employment opportunity email because you uploaded
your resume on CareerBuilder.
If your employment status has changed or you no longer wish to receive these
emails, you can update your privacy and communication preferences from your
resume by logging onto CareerBuilder.com:
http://www.careerbuilder.com/jobseeker/emails/emailsubcenter.aspx?siteid=RDB
&etype=RDB

Or you can Block this employer from viewing your resume and sending you
candidate emails.

This email was sent from Email ID R53KK392K359L03CX2D89
If you have questions or comments for and CareerBuilder, please use our
feedback form.









Do You Have a Complaint?

Submit a Complaint

Comments

  • David
  • David SBID #fc39e37edd
  • Posted 09/13/2012
  • I also got emails from her and I sad to say was gullible and believed what this person said. Haven't received any checks yet but I will not be cashing anything that I get.
  • Was this helpful?
  • David
  • David SBID #fc39e37edd
  • Posted 09/17/2012
  • What they do is they send you fraudulent checks, you cash them thinking they are real, take your 10% send them the rest. Then a week to a month later your bank finds our the check wasn't real and then comes to you for the money. When you cant pay you go to jail.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Brett1986
  • Brett1986 SBID #90e9a58215
  • Posted 09/18/2012
  • I am sad to say that I fell for this. Signed contract and all. They sent me an email saying that they will be sending checks in 4-5 days. Good thing I saw this before
  • Was this helpful?
  • Brett1986
  • Brett1986 SBID #90e9a58215
  • Posted 09/18/2012
  • I am sad to say that I fell for this. Signed contract and all. They sent me an email saying that they will be sending checks in 4-5 days. Good thing I saw this before
  • Was this helpful?
  • Bpacker
  • Bpacker SBID #c3a567cb93
  • Posted 09/21/2012
  • I wish people would do a little research next time before falling for anything that at first seems too outrageously "good" to be true. What I did was copy the entire email and searched the web using google. You can also copy just a few sentences first to search. It brought me to this website. I also searched "Rebecca Miller" and "Procyon" and one of them brought me to the "Rhonda" scam. The entire message was the same, except for the name of the asshole behind the scam, who's real name is probably not the one used in the email. A search for "Procyon" on www.glassdoor returned an address in Florida, not a UK address. Again, assholes out there are using other people's name and other company's address to perpetrate their scams. They even sent scam emails to me from me, and from other people's email address without their knowledge! It's easy to just put anyone's email address in the "Sent From" address. Please Don't fall for any scam!!!!!
  • Was this helpful?
  • skyy15
  • skyy15 SBID #628af20c04
  • Posted 09/27/2012
  • Wow!!! I was actually quite certain that this was a scam, but I figured I'd 'play along' and lo and behold, TWO CHECKS ARRIVED!! Prior to taking it this far, I did do what I thought was an exhaustive google search, but that was prior to this 'expose' here. In any case, I deposited the two checks (totaling $3,300) in my checking account but asked my bank to put a hold on the funds to make sure they clear FIRST. There was no way I was going to cash it and send them that amount of money (90% of the $3,300 of course!). Also, I gave them my P.O. Box instead of my home address because of my skepticism. BOTTOM LINE, once I confirm that these checks are in fact bad checks, I will give you guys an update as it appears that no one else has gotten this far (hopefully no one sent them money!!). Great job everyone!!!
  • Was this helpful?
  • sentia89
  • sentia89 SBID #f7910bab76
  • Posted 09/28/2012
  • @Bpacker, No I didn't speak to her on the phone. I was never given a number. She asked me a couple of questions via email. It was about 4 of them, I answered them and then she said a contract will come in about 48 hours to sign. And that's when I did this search on the name and I saw this posting. Should we tell CareerBuilder about this or are they finding out our emails elsewhere and just putting CareerBuilder name on it???
  • Was this helpful?
  • Bpacker
  • Bpacker SBID #c3a567cb93
  • Posted 09/28/2012
  • @sentia89, CareerBuilder probably is aware of it, but even if you tell them, they're probably not going to do anything as anyone can create any profile anywhere. again, this person probably just used CareerBuilder's name to trick people into thinking it's legit. Also, anytime you provide your email address online for whatever purpose, some companies will spam you adnauseum. Sad, but true. Those on here who received this Rebecca email should probably change their email password ASAP!
  • Was this helpful?
  • Cborough
  • Cborough SBID #31e65a06ef
  • Posted 09/28/2012
  • I too have received emails, signed the contract and have received the checks in the mail. Totaling $3,350. I went to cash the checks at my bank and (THANKFULLY) the bank manager came out and talked to me about scams and asked more information about the job and company (which I didn't have a lot of), she sat me down and we looked up the company, the name on the check ( Lesley A. Fox ), the bank on the check ( Greenfield Banking Co. in Greenfield, IN ). While the bank came up legit, searching a Lesley Fox returned with multiple results. However the name that was on the envelope which came in the mail was under HealthConnection (exactly like that) from an address in Columbus, Ohio. All signs pointed to fraud and at the end of our search the manager said it was up to me if I still wanted to cash the checks however even if I didn;t touch the money deposited, if the checks bounced my account would be closed. I decided not to cash/deposit and informed them of my bank's findings. They (of course) denied it and kept pressuring me to go ahead and cash the checks and if anything came up wrong they would reimburse me however they would not give me any contact information other than the email address they were emailing me from. Since I did naively sign the contract I am still making an effort to get more information from them, so far to no avail.

    @skyy15 Please keep me updated with any information you receive as I do still have the checks in my possession and would like to know if I should just trash them or send them back to the sender. Thank you!

    And thank you all for your comments!
  • Was this helpful?
  • Bpacker
  • Bpacker SBID #c3a567cb93
  • Posted 09/29/2012
  • @cborough, I'm not a lawyer, but I would assume a contract signed under fraud is not legal. Any business who refuses to identify itself to you is clearly a fraud. I would stop replying to the company's emails. Perhaps someone on here who is a lawyer can provide some legal guidance.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Bpacker
  • Bpacker SBID #c3a567cb93
  • Posted 09/29/2012
  • @cborough, I'm not a lawyer, but I would assume a contract signed under fraud is not legal. Any business who refuses to identify itself to you is clearly a fraud. I would stop replying to the company's emails. Perhaps someone on here who is a lawyer can provide some legal guidance.
  • Was this helpful?
  • skyy15
  • skyy15 SBID #a3e70c5f75
  • Posted 09/29/2012
  • @Cborough - I'll definitely keep you posted. I should know something this week.
    @Bpacker - I'm no lawyer either, but I'm going to go out on a limb and say "You're right!!"
  • Was this helpful?

Do You Have a Complaint?

Add a complaint and spread the word. High volume complaints have a better chance to get their money back. Submit a report and join forces with others like you!

Submit a Complaint Now

Business Profile Summary

  • Procyon Instruments logo

Company Statistics

  • Complaint Against Procyon Instruments
  • Complaints Filed: 4
  • Reported Damages: $6,000.00
Visit Complete Company Profile

What is SBID?

SBID is a unique id code that identifies the user's computer and location. SBID is used to prevent fraudulent postings and help our community find users who create duplicate user accounts.