SlimTone Plus Free Trial
Complaint 137771 Details

  • Date Occurred: 07/21/2012
  • Reported Damages: $75.00
  • !

The complaint is against an online dating profile

The complaint is a listing fraud posted on public forums or sites against an anonymous entity

The complaint is mobile text spam or smishing related against an anonymous entity

The company or person contact no longer exists

International boundaries

i signed up to slimtone plus 2weeks ago for the free trial i didnt relise they were gonna charge me £75 this is a whole weeks money for me i have 2 children who depend on this money aswell i phoned the company they said theres nothing we can do the same tablets are on amazon for les than £30 i have been charged for a free trial think this is scam and now im out of pocket

Do You Have a Complaint?

Submit a Complaint

Comments

  • Christopher
  • Christopher SBID #62a9fc3f7a
  • Posted 07/31/2012
  • This company are using a misleading method to hook buyers. The terms and conditions are placed right at the bottom of the page in tiny font in a shade of grey that can easilty be missed.
    To state that it is a free trial is misleading. It is not free. Firstly you have to pay postage which is where they get yoru debit card details. Then they set up a recurring payment mehtod on yoru debit card without your knowledge.
    Most UK banks are now changing their rules on these types of transaction and you can call your bank and have them block payments.
    I have been caught out with this method and I found that they did not reply to four emails, two support emails sent via their own website and they never answer their telephone line.
    Now they have moved to Ireland to avoid UK jurisdiction.
    I suggest you contact the OFT and have these people stopped fom advertising in the UK. You should email your complaint to :-
    enquiries@oft.gsi.gov.uk
    You can also email your local MP and complain about the activities of this company.
  • Was this helpful?
  • DianeMcG
  • DianeMcG SBID #324e273ed5
  • Posted 08/07/2012
  • I am so pleased I found this complaint post from Christopher quite by chance when I was looking at how much these Slimtone tablets cost should they prove to be worthwhile. I received mine this morning and after reading Christopher's post I immediately cancelled the order and will be returning the stuff. It appears that this company isn't actually breaking any laws but I was under the impression that "misleading" advertising was frowned upon. I also discovered that they are based in Ireland so the UK Office of Fair Trading probably can't do anything about it (the European Trading Standards people weren't much help when I contacted them) and also found a scathing report on a site called "dietpillswatchdog.com" which also calls into question Slimtone's marketing strategy. I have actually got in touch with the BBC Watchdog programme about it as hopefully they reach a far wider audience that either this site or the online dietpillswatchdog site. So thank you Christopher!! You probably know that the diet pills watchdog report contained your post.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Christopher
  • Christopher SBID #62a9fc3f7a
  • Posted 08/07/2012
  • Thanks DianeMcG, Unfortunately, you will also see that there are some contradictory commenst above. These are from employeed of Slimtone Plus masquerading as members of the forum. It happens all the time, but the moderators should be clamping down.
    Please keep me updated with yoru efforts to expose this shoddy company.
  • Was this helpful?
  • abstar
  • abstar SBID #5dc334570f
  • Posted 08/09/2012
  • Hello everyone. I was too scammed. Am gutted as never been scammed before and it did sound too good to be true. Unfortunately for me I ordered the FREE trial before I went on holiday. It did not arrive and I had to collect it after two weeks in Sri Lanka which I did so yesterday. I was too late to cancel the order and they charged me £37.50 and £75.00!! Luckily i did not open the bottles and I called this morning. Dont let them fool you. I argued, asked to speak to the manager. They originally said they would cancel and I would have to email for a refund. I refused as they email system is backed up and the auto response states 72 hours to get a reply. I argued again and said they could not mislead in this way. They lady informed me it was in the T's and C's but I said they are not able to do this and refused to end the call until I was refunded. She spoke to her manager and they offered 50% refund. Again I refused saying I do not want the product and I will send back the unopened product via special delivery. I then asked her to be quiet until I had finished what I had to say and I threatened them with the Financial Services Authority, threatened them with Visa as they have the power to refund me and will chase them, and my bank. They finally agreed to refund 50% now and the remaing 50% after they receive the order. I got her full name and am sending it back at lunch time. They CANNOT scam in this way, they have to make the terms CLEAR. The offer implies that you get two weeks worth of capsules as a FREE TRIAL and then you can order. I only ordered them as they were in Daily Mail! I finally ended the letter I put in with it with 'please delete my personal details from your systems and your email programme after my refund' Persevere I am getting my money back.
  • Was this helpful?
  • DianeMcG
  • DianeMcG SBID #324e273ed5
  • Posted 08/09/2012
  • I just got notification in my email about the further posts on this topic - well done abstar - have had an automated response to my email from the BBC Watchdog people. I shall forward a link to this particular webpage if they do decide to include this topic on any of their Autumn series as I feel just as strongly as all the other people who have posted here on what we all consider misleading and unethical marketing techniques. Will post again if I hear anything from BBC Watchdog.
  • Was this helpful?
  • DianeMcG
  • DianeMcG SBID #324e273ed5
  • Posted 08/09/2012
  • Oops - sorry about the two identical posts - after I had submitted the first one, I got directed to an "odd" page so resubmitted the post, hence the double post!
  • Was this helpful?
  • Abby
  • Abby SBID #45c9415e77
  • Posted 08/13/2012
  • As others did I ordered the apparently "free" slimtone plus trial. THEY ARE A SCAM. They get your bank details from the order then set up auto shipment. You can try and cancel but they reply days later and will not answer the phone. I sent my products back and emailed them to cancel and they tried to tell me they hadn't received them. I used to live in Australia and my packages from the UK too a maximum of 5-7days. I sent the pills back nearly 2 weeks ago.

    Trust me, I am involved in banking law and even I fell for this SCAM.

    I contacted my bank and they blocked all future payments from Slimtone plus and so I advise that you do the same. Do this as if the bank let a payment through they will reimburse you if you have reported the company as a scam.
  • Was this helpful?
  • kezza02
  • kezza02 SBID #3f2e27b96a
  • Posted 08/17/2012
  • I too was fooled by this and had money taken from my account yesterday. I called them and spoke to a really snooty man who told me it was my own fault for not reading the terms and conditions. Its advertised as a 'FREE TRIAL' so like a lot of people i didnt read them and to be honest cant even remember seeing them. If they were a genuine company the fact that people get money taken from their accounts after 14 days would of been in clear print when you go on to the page not hidden in barley there t&cs and advertised as FREE.
    I explained to the man that i have 4 children and would never ever contemplate spendind almost £120 on some pills, but all i got offered was half a refund. Sooooooooooo angry :-(
  • Was this helpful?
  • abstar
  • abstar SBID #0818c3fb58
  • Posted 08/17/2012
  • kezza, Do not let them fool you. I was extremley persistant and I have been refunded half and the other haf I am witing on. I have an email confirming this and I sent back the un opened product by courier wich costs 10 pounds and they have recived it.
  • Was this helpful?
  • kezza02
  • kezza02 SBID #3f2e27b96a
  • Posted 08/17/2012
  • Yeah but the problem is i am not a very confident person and struggle with knowing what to say to these people when they say its my own fault :-(
  • Was this helpful?
  • Abby
  • Abby SBID #45c9415e77
  • Posted 08/17/2012
  • You say that if they do not refund you in full you will report them to every authority you can find. Find out who is the equivalent to trading standards in Ireland and threaten them. I have emailed them and said don't bother trying to take any money from me as I have blocked you from accessing my account (which I have done) and I threatened them. They are a corrupt company clearly. Plus, under the Irish equivalent of the Sale of goods Act, you should be entitled to a full refund within 28 days. So this 14 or 21 day (Inappropriate Content Removed). The auto shipment programme is legal but the refusing refunds isn't.
  • Was this helpful?
  • abstar
  • abstar SBID #0818c3fb58
  • Posted 08/18/2012
  • Just need to be careful, if you block them they cannot refund you. I have had half back and am waiting for the other half. I know that they have received it because I tracked the parcel. As soon as I get the rest back (if I get it!) I will then block them. I think it was the threaten of reporting them to visa that did it, and the fact the product was unopened and I had been on holiday so had no opportunity to send it back in the 14 days.
  • Was this helpful?
  • emmao
  • emmao SBID #a5b7d1ac89
  • Posted 08/20/2012
  • i have just recieved the 30 day free trial 2 days ago i have opened them i have tried to ring company to cancel them as i also trialed the body cleanse aswell i have emailed them telling them to cancel after reading this blog but i cant get through on phone and just got the auto reply saying they will contact me in 72 hours. what can i do? i dont know where to return them to and just want to send them back asap so they cant take money out my account i have only paid the shipment for them so far but will i how can i stop them taking money out my account? please help
  • Was this helpful?
  • abstar
  • abstar SBID #82ac3ea05b
  • Posted 08/20/2012
  • Hi emmao. I called them at 9am which is when their call centre opens. Also you have their account details as they have taken the postage from you so you can go into your bank and ask to block that company from taking any further funds. I sent the email and also called. They wont take anything until 14 days after you ordered the trial. Even if the bank needs to cancel your card and issue a new one, get them to do that as it is your card details they have. Good luck
  • Was this helpful?
  • Christopher
  • Christopher SBID #62a9fc3f7a
  • Posted 08/20/2012
  • I would just like to point out a couple of methods you can use to get your money back and block future payments.
    Firstly, if you use a credit or debit card and it is Visa or Mastercard, you should call their customer service and ask for a `chargeback`. This is the Visa/Mastercard method of retieving payments made where there is fraud or misrepresentation.
    Similarly, you should call you bank and advise them that the new financial servies Act means that you are now able to ask your bank to block payments arranged via your debit card if you can prove them to be fraudulanet or misrepresented in any way.
    I hope that helps.
  • Was this helpful?
  • abstar
  • abstar SBID #82ac3ea05b
  • Posted 08/20/2012
  • Cancel your card. It is your card details the company has not your bank details. If you cancel it and have a new one issued they cannot take it out.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Steph
  • Steph SBID #9a4eed8729
  • Posted 08/20/2012
  • What is the best way to cancel my order? I have 6 days left of my "free trial" and have only just seen all this!
    =(
    Please can someone help me. Thanks
  • Was this helpful?
  • emmao
  • emmao SBID #a5b7d1ac89
  • Posted 08/20/2012
  • i have sent emails and tried calling but no answer and just sent an auto reply to my email saying they will deal with my issue in 72hrs
  • Was this helpful?
  • DianeMcG
  • DianeMcG SBID #dcf96edc06
  • Posted 08/20/2012
  • I have been following this thread since I started posting on it a couple of weeks ago. I still haven't heard anything further from the BBC Watchdog programme and if I am the only person they have heard from on this particular topic, I daresay they may not proceed any further to highlight this particular consumer problem in their Autumn schedule. Obviously, everybody who has posted on here so far feels equally strongly on the blatant misleading nature of this Slimline Offer/Trial. It is just a thought then that perhaps if some of you who have been affected would also contact Watchdog (watchdog@bbc.co.uk) it might have more impact and a far greater number of people may be forewarned.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Abby
  • Abby SBID #45c9415e77
  • Posted 08/21/2012
  • Either block them or cancel your card...you must outline to the bank that it is an autoshipment programme and a scam and that they would be taking money every month. The banks don't like this at all. They will block them. I have checked my account and nothing has gone anywhere so far
  • Was this helpful?
  • Abby
  • Abby SBID #45c9415e77
  • Posted 08/21/2012
  • you must also get through to the retailer disputes department...so phone the bank explain you have been scammed and that they are planning on taking money every month out of your account and are refusing to cancel and won't even answer the phone. They put you through to the retailer disputes department you state this again and ask if they can put your account on surveillance and block future payments. Because you have reported this as a scam, if the bank do let payments through then they must reimburse you
  • Was this helpful?
  • Isobel
  • Isobel SBID #cec5601132
  • Posted 08/22/2012
  • I've just picked up my 30 day free trial of this product, saw your blogs and have immediately sent an email to cancel everything. I've also asked to be removed from their marketing mail as this is not what I asked to do. There were no T&C's advertised to state this was an autoshipment program and I want no part in it. No payment has been taken as yet but I'll be contacting my bank to stop any payment. It was advertised clearly as a FREE 30 day trial and that's what I'm expecting. No agreement to anything else.
  • Was this helpful?
  • helen80
  • helen80 SBID #353a34a7ae
  • Posted 08/24/2012
  • I too have been scammed didnt read the small print on the leaflet that came with pills i did the body cleanse aswell. They took the money out this morning £75.00 and £37.50 I had bills to pay my bank couldnt do anything about a refund as it was a visa transcation, They are sending me 2 visa dispute forms but I wont bother filling them out as i wont see that money again I never even opened the trial packs of either pill so as they have taken money off me they should send me more pills so i will be sending everything back with a letter to kindly tell them to do one!!! They cant take anymore money off me now anyway as my bank cancelled my card and i am waiting for new one to arrive. I was wanting a quick fix to lose weight and the only thing i lost was £107.50 DO NOT GO TO THIS COMPANY YOU WILL LOSE MONEY UNLESS YOU CANCEL STRAIGHT AWAY. If i had known this site was here I would have looked here first and not bothered to even look at slimtone plus!!!! Good luck to those waiting for refunds.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Isobel
  • Isobel SBID #353a34a7ae
  • Posted 08/25/2012
  • Update - I phoned the company the day after I picked up the goods from the post office and was on the phone to the most obnoxious supervisor and manager. The agent first of all was polite and put through an immediate cancellation. You have to pay for delivery of these things which I accepted but you then also have to pay to return them and you pay for international recorded delivery!! Unbelievably appalling customer service they offer. I pulled the team manager out of a conference call to the USA I believe (yeah right). All of them spouted off about T&C's and orders not being accepted unless you agreed. The point I was trying to make is there were none on the page I filled in. They only came with the goods which by the way have now been returned. What you actually get is a 14 day free trial as you need to send 50% of the products back if you don't want to be charged so that's what they are getting returned.

    I also phoned my bank and explained if payments show for this company (apart from the agreed £5.00 P&P) they are under no circumstances to pay any money to them. My bank immediately asked if it was a free trial thing as they are getting more and more of these. They've put an immediate block if they get asked for money from this company.

    This company has fraudulently advertised a free trial and then want to bill for something you haven't asked for and they think they have done nothing wrong......
  • Was this helpful?
  • nanette
  • nanette SBID #6ad2d0cf4e
  • Posted 08/28/2012
  • I am so pleased to have come across this site. This morning I telephoned the company to cancel the items within the 14 day free trial. An automated message informed me that I must still pay the full price. I immediately realised this was a con and have wasted the whole morning AND MONEY in phoning them to get a so called RMA no. and a return address.
    I could not take down all the details because the information given was being said too fast. I then wrote them
    an email requesting that the return procedure be set out in
    writing. Still waiting for a response. I then telephoned my bank. They were unhelpful, the female I spoke to said that nothing is free on the internet, and I should not have be taken in by a free trial offer. She also said the bank could not stop the future recurring payments coming out of my account until the goods were returned to this company. In
    my desperation to see if other people were having trouble with this rip-off, I googled and came across this website.
    I am furious with this company and my bank which is Lloyds.
    Now I know that these so called diet pills are rubbish. I don't want them even if they were now to give it to me for
    free. The return address appears to be 222 Shannon Airport House. This is as far as I got in obtaining the address from the automated telephone service. Could someone please give me their full address?
    This can't be correct.
  • Was this helpful?
  • abstar
  • abstar SBID #ab308cfc1b
  • Posted 08/31/2012
  • Just an update. I ordered ths FREE TRIAL, and it did not arrive until after I went on holiday. I had to collect it when I came back which was two weeks later. As soon a I opened it and saw the letter enclosed I checked my account. They had taken £37.50 and a further £75. I tried to call but their offices were closed and did no open until 9 am. I called the next morning bang on 9 am and got through.

    You have to be strong with them. They tried stating it's in the small print but I would not have any of it and accused them of misleading me and threatened them saying I would report them to trading standards and also visa. I had to keep insisting.

    They tred to fob me off several times saying send the product back and I have to email for any refund. I refused and said I would not get off the phone until I got my money back. After putting me on hold, she then offered 50% refund. I refused. I also had not opened the product. After some more strong words eventually they offered 50% now and the other 50% once t was returned by recorded delivery. Sure enough I was refunded the 50%.

    I sent the products back. But because it's in Ireland there is no recorded delivery. I sent it parcel force to get there in 3 days and it cost £9 odd. (same day was £45!)

    I checked and they received it on the 13th ( had to include a letter with my details for the refund) I had not received the refund after 10 days so I emailed and they requested a receipt so I scanned it and told them when they received it. I finally received the remaining 50% yesterday.

    So if you persevere you can get your money back. And for those who have received the product and cannot cancel it. CANCEL YOUR BANK CARD!!!! It is this that they have and if you cancel it and have a new card issued they cannot take the money. But if you want a refund, wait until they refund you before cancelling the card otherwise the money won't go back into our account.

    Sorry for long ramble, just wanted to show that I did get my money.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Andrea
  • Andrea SBID #75773d423a
  • Posted 08/31/2012
  • i Have been scammed by SLIMTONE PLUS aswell, just had £75 took out of my account when i had sent an e mail cancelling it, i was told there was no e mail recieved off me and that i was stupid for not checking the terms and conditions.....i ordered tablets but was sent tablets an patches and charged for the both......i never ordered both. i have been left in a mess as all my other payments have now bounced leaving me in a load of mess, and slimtone give a damn
  • Was this helpful?
  • Sandra
  • Sandra SBID #cb92aca701
  • Posted 09/02/2012
  • I to have been caught in this fraud and charged £152.49. I am going to phone and see what happens.I paid by mastercard and will phone them also. I received my parcel when my mother was seriously ill and then later passed away, so didnt even open the parcel until today. I do hope I get some money back as the card I used wasnt mine it was my partners.
  • Was this helpful?
  • lynsey
  • lynsey SBID #3c3cd3c790
  • Posted 09/03/2012
  • Iread your troubles and fortunately i ordered mine on friday. I have rung the bank and they have both cancelled the order and my card. Hopefully they will not get a penny of my money
  • Was this helpful?
  • Shirley
  • Shirley SBID #2bcc9dcec1
  • Posted 09/04/2012
  • I have been scammed by Slim Tone Plus Shannon House Shannon Airport SSZ co.Clare. NO ONE speakes to you only their machine that makes them cowards
  • Was this helpful?
  • Christopher
  • Christopher SBID #62a9fc3f7a
  • Posted 09/04/2012
  • Can I suggest to everyone who has commented on this thread and any new posters to write down the following links:-
    watchdog@bbc.co.uk.
    Watchdog, MC4 C5, Media Centre, Wood Lane, London W12 7TQ.

    The first is the email address for the BBC watchdog programme and the latter is the physical address if you prefer to write.
    Diane McG is right to say that unless more of you make a complaint to the Watchdog programme they will not take much notice.

    Regards

    Chris
  • Was this helpful?
  • lynsey
  • lynsey SBID #3c3cd3c790
  • Posted 09/04/2012
  • They have taken their 2 lots of 2.49 but the bank can now act if they try to take more money eventhough I have tried to cancel the order.If the goods don't turn up,LLoyd's said they will reinburse the money.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Isobel
  • Isobel SBID #31d043eb30
  • Posted 09/04/2012
  • I've sent several emails to them and enclosed proof of posting since returning half their goods. In reality for this free trial you get 14 days worth of goods and have to return at least 50% of what you received as this will ensure you are not billed anything further. So, I took out 14 days worth of free trial and sent the rest back to Shannon Airport House, sent them an email with the receipt and asked them to confirm once they had received the returned goods and also to confirm in writing when they received them and to also confirm in writing they will not take any further payments from my bank. I got confirmation again that my order had been cancelled and they WILL NOT be taking any payments from my bank.

    I had already been in touch with my bank to advise of what had happened and that I agree with the two payments of £2.49 P&P but wanted them to stop any further payment requests which they did with no bother. My bank has been great (Lloyds) - no issues with doing what I'd requested and I'm keeping an eye on it just to be on the safe side.

    I started using the free trial but had to stop on day two - I think I'm allergic to whatever is in it as I came out in a small rash and was itchy all over so 12 days worth of free trial got destroyed............
  • Was this helpful?
  • lynsey
  • lynsey SBID #3c3cd3c790
  • Posted 09/04/2012
  • I'm with LLoyds and they just said keep what they sent you and they will make sure that no more payments leave my account. Thankfully they only took the 2 lots of 2.49 and no more. I've tried to ring and i've emailed with no reply. I am not sending anything back. Why should I adhere to their rules when they are a scam? The bank have assured me that I will be reinbursed if they take or attempt to take any more money.If they send you more than what you are signing up for,on their heads be it. They will be getting no more from me. They are relying on people to return half so they can repackage them and flog them onto the next unwitting person.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Clare
  • Clare SBID #d00c921c18
  • Posted 09/04/2012
  • I signed up for the slimtone plus free trial on the 1st August and realised I would be charged for the tabs and capsules so I emailed and asked them to cancel my subscription asap plus I sent the remaining goods back (which cost me nearly £8 by recorded delivery. Well I thought that was the end of it but on the 2nd Sept I had £75 taken from my bank account and an email to say my subscription had been cancelled! (I thought it had been allready). Apparently my return hadn't been processed so I kept emailing them and today they sent a message saying the £75 is being refunded back to my account! So I think you have to be persistant and don't give up. I won't be signing up to anything like this in the future though this has taught me a lesson to read the small print.
  • Was this helpful?
  • lynsey
  • lynsey SBID #3c3cd3c790
  • Posted 09/04/2012
  • They may have emailed you saying you'll get money back Clare,but until its in your account,I wouldn't be so sure.Just deal with your bank. Get them blocked from your account.
  • Was this helpful?
  • He
  • He SBID #e831146276
  • Posted 09/06/2012
  • Hi, All I am another victim of this slimtone plus trail. I am writing to office of fair trading to ask them these questions:
    1. Is it right to put T&C in the box with the headers ?
    VeriSign GeoTrust TRUSTe

    2. Is it right to put chargeable supply in a trail bottle?
    3. Is it right to set default status as checked in ‘I agree the T&C’s of this site’?

    If we all write them, they will investigate this site. We can help ourselves and protect others.

    Office Of Fair Trading email address: enquiries@oft.gsi.gov.uk

    He
  • Was this helpful?
  • luccccc_3
  • luccccc_3 SBID #e1263c9491
  • Posted 09/06/2012
  • Hi i ordered my free trial yesterday however as it was a 'free' trial i decided to make the most of it and ask my friend to order me another load... i dont know if money has been taken out yet but if i were to go into my bank tomorrow would they be able to block these people from taking money out of my account?
  • Was this helpful?
  • lynsey
  • lynsey SBID #3c3cd3c790
  • Posted 09/06/2012
  • They wont block it now as its mid transfer. speak to the bank. Ask the bank to block any further payment to them and cancel your cards as they have your card details. Send slimtone an email cancelling your order.
  • Was this helpful?
  • lynsey
  • lynsey SBID #3c3cd3c790
  • Posted 09/06/2012
  • I contacted my bank 3 days ago as I ordered mine last friday. They told me that the company have your card details and even cancelling the card may not stop them trying to take further money but they will block them. At the end of the day,its the card details they have. Blocking them alone may not help. LLoyds have told me that they will refund me if they take anymore money.
  • Was this helpful?
  • victoria
  • victoria SBID #271a0b83ec
  • Posted 09/10/2012
  • my bank told me there is nothing they can do and there basically allowed to take the money out my account. they havent taken anything yet but i want to block them from doing this but sandtander will not help me :( what can i do?
  • Was this helpful?
  • victoria
  • victoria SBID #271a0b83ec
  • Posted 09/10/2012
  • yer i agreed to that as it stated its a free trial i took this out 5 days ago but i dont want them taking anymore money out but i spoke to this horrible woman who basically said its my own fault and i am entitled to pay them any more money on top of the free trail.
    shall i just cancell my account with santander?
  • Was this helpful?
  • lynsey
  • lynsey SBID #3c3cd3c790
  • Posted 09/10/2012
  • cancel it now! That is to say just the card. Make sure the bank know this is a scam and get them to block any further payments. The law has changed and they legally have to stop the company taking any more money or they have to reinburse you the money.
  • Was this helpful?
  • luccccc_3
  • luccccc_3 SBID #8f17f790e9
  • Posted 09/10/2012
  • Hi I was wondering if anyone could help me out.. Basically for the patches how many can you use at one time?how many different areas can you put them on at one time? Andit says reposition the patch after 24 hours..do you use a new patcxh or the same one?
  • Was this helpful?
  • NW06
  • NW06 SBID #4e3a287d66
  • Posted 09/10/2012
  • Hi

    Can someone please advise me what is the best thing to do.

    I signed up for the free trial of the Slimtone Raspberry Ketone pills and the Bodycleanse Colon pills. I used the 'SHIPSAVE' discount code and paid £2.49 per product plus a donation to gift aid. I have checked my bank account and these are the only amounts to have been taken from my account so far.

    However, I have not received any correspondence or email to confirm my order, so this evening I emailed them and asked if I could cancel my order. I did a screen shot of the screen which said I would receive a 'ticket' email plus a proper response within 72 hours. So far I have not had a 'ticket'.

    What is the best course of action now the initial payment has been taken from my account? Should I contact my bank and tell them not to take any further payments from this company or should I just cancel my card.

    Also, should I just send the product back as soon as I receive it?

    Any help or advice anyone can give I'd be grateful of.
  • Was this helpful?
  • He
  • He SBID #edaa1ac3d8
  • Posted 09/11/2012
  • Hi,

    I have written to Advertising Standards Authority to complaim Slim Tone Plus mislead advertisment. Please refer to:
    www.asa.org.uk/Complaints/How-to-complain.aspx
    My points are:
    1> They shouldn't put unconventional terms and conditions in the box where sellers claim their secuied payment channel.
    2>Then shouldn't set default status for terms and conditions to checked.
    3>75 pounds are unfair charge.

    They will look into this issue.

    He
  • Was this helpful?
  • DAVE
  • DAVE SBID #353a34a7ae
  • Posted 09/20/2012
  • Hi, yep, I've been ripped off. I feel a bit of an idiot really.
    Anyway, this is Design-A-Scam. Send something apparently free, put stuff in small print, get bank details, make it impossible to contact customer service, charge for THREE items when you thought you were only buying two, have TWO different sources to try and resolve the problem, rather than one. Tripwires all the way. Anything which is DESIGNED TO SCAM, even though it may be on the right side of the law (just) should not be allowed. The CAN describes this type of scam as Miracle health cures

    Miracle health cures or ‘scientific breakthroughs’ offer you health products to cure a problem such as arthritis, diabetes, or cancer, or to help you lose weight. The seller often promises a no-risk money-back guarantee or a free trial. There are often quotes from doctors and happy customers.

    These types of products and medicines are unlikely to do you much good, and might even harm you. Talk to your GP before you buy any of these products.
    What you can do is you have a LEGAL right to a 7 day cooling off period. They are aware of this, which is why they are uncontactable.
  • Was this helpful?
  • nikki1969
  • nikki1969 SBID #8d5eb49980
  • Posted 09/24/2012
  • well i made the same mistake went for the free trial and then when i realised they were charging 75 pound plus 5 for postage thats 80 pound for a product that cost 20 elsewhere. i rand and emailed to cancel and was then told the so called free trial wasn't free at all it was a 14 day trial at the end of which they charge you for it. so any how i cancelled it and then found they had charged me for another lot they are just fraudulent it def says free trial so whats free about it as you cant get any money back unless you send the product back. which i have the second bottle.
  • Was this helpful?
  • DianeMcG
  • DianeMcG SBID #995680c106
  • Posted 09/24/2012
  • Just an update to my previous posts, I returned the tablets and patches and made sure I got a certificate posting and Slimtone have confirmed that they will not be sending any more stuff or taking any money out of my account.

    Just one thing that I haven't mentioned before, when I signed up for this so called "trial offer" (I'm really not sure whether it did say "free" - I may well have assumed that "trial" meant "free) but I thought I had only elected to the trial of the tablets so was somewhat surprised to get those patches as well. At the time I was quite pleased to get patches as I did think it was all a free trial. Does anyone know if these now famous (or infamous) terms and conditions included the information that you were agreeing to tables AND patches?
  • Was this helpful?
  • helen
  • helen SBID #376ac48a40
  • Posted 10/10/2012
  • Check your spam or junk mail thats where my confirmation & actually any correspondence has ended up!!!

    I have just managed to speak to someone there & cancel my trial - they offered my every discount going but I said no I want to cancel.
    Ive been given my RMA codes & told where to put them on the packaging & the number of tablets & patches to return & been advised to post using international recorded delivery. I took the mans name & he assured my my card wont be charged if they receive it
    all back before the 1st Nov - however I still have a niggling feeling that I will end up being charged. Has this happened to anyone else?
  • Was this helpful?
  • DianeMcG
  • DianeMcG SBID #4a009192b2
  • Posted 10/10/2012
  • Helen - I also managed to talk to someone on the phone at Slimtone and she gave me the codes to put onto the outside of the parcel and the address to return the stuff. I just got a certificate of posting from the Post Office and luckily I did get confirmation of the receipt of the package from Slimtone who cancelled everything and nothing has been taken out of my account - earlier on in this thread it appeared that we had a poster who sounded so unsympathetic towards posters who had lost money and some were in difficult circumstances as a result that it kind of gave the impression he might have some sort of connection to Slimtone so maybe they are aware of all these complaints and therefore may be more inclined to cancel orders now and not take these large amounts of money out of peoples' accounts!
  • Was this helpful?
  • helen
  • helen SBID #376ac48a40
  • Posted 10/18/2012
  • I posted everything back which cost me £9.52 but because its a Po box it cant be signed for so just had to track & trace it. I called them up today & told them I know my package arrived with them on the 15th & was asked for my tracking number - I gave it to the girl & im sure she didnt even tpye it anywhere just repeated the number & said yes we have had it back. I asked why I hadnt received my confirmation email of cancellation & was told it would be recieved in 72 hours so I took the girls name & said goodbye.
    Funnily enough by the time I logged into my email there were both my cancellation emails (in my spam box as usual)
    Please make sure you call up to chase them as im sure they are desperate to charge people & so wont rush these cancellations through!!!
  • Was this helpful?
  • helen
  • helen SBID #376ac48a40
  • Posted 10/18/2012
  • By the way - I only sent back the reqired 30 tablets of each & have continued to take the rest as instructed & to date in 1 week have lost a single lb in weight - glad im not now paying £75 a month for it not to work!!
  • Was this helpful?
  • Clare
  • Clare SBID #15cf358311
  • Posted 10/18/2012
  • Following up to my post in September, I did get a full refund after £75 was taken from my account after I had returned practically all of the tabs and capsules. I did have to send many emails to slimtone and they cancelled my subscription.

    I think you have to be persistant, I know this hasn't worked for everyone but don't give up.
  • Was this helpful?
  • maria
  • maria SBID #16fcb3b693
  • Posted 10/30/2012
  • follow up to my post iv sent back two lots of pills posted while i was away slimtone plus owe me 225
    iv sent them all back unopened got through to there call cente but they were ot helpfull taked to a MR joe pierson he said i would deffinatly wont get my 225 as its too late to send back first lot and i oly got 5 days to send back second lot but i could get my 112 back dont know if that was said just to get me off the line as i did threten them with everything i could think of
    post office said i couldnt have recorded becouse its a p o box address so cant be signed for or tracked she phoned up general and was told same thing so had to choose first class but got proof of postage
    i scanned this to them with an email telling them if they didnt trasver my refund of 112 and no reductions within 10 days i would report them and chasse them for full refund of the tottal 225
    the email i had of them after the telephone call told me i will oly get half of the 112 and less posting and packing
    after sending yet onother email saying how they have fraudently taken money out of my account without them making it clear if they didnt refund in 9 days i would take it further next 2 emails was confermation of 37 50 and 75.00 bank said it hasent showed yet but they said if it dosent come in they would pay me and they will chasse it up but untill its in i wont settle
    iserdently whenn looking on net i found a site for both slimetone plus and bodyclease to cansel your account they then sent me confermation of callelation also clicked on bodycleanse web and little blue banner came up to onother site looks like they are trying to sell bodycleanse dont konw if this is helpfull im st still 112 out of pocket but i wasent shore if i would get all of it back and it was making me feel bad i thought if i get half it would be better than nothing still fell bad about the money lost but iv learned a lesson dont trust aybody on net
  • Was this helpful?
  • DianeMcG
  • DianeMcG SBID #d7b5ac7ec2
  • Posted 11/21/2012
  • How priceless!! I have just got a "Customer Survey" email from Slimtone which starts by thanking me for being a loyal customer and then goes on to ask 20 questions covering my personal and diet details, how much I am willing to pay per month on slimming stuff (options up to over £100!) how satisfied I was with customer services responses and finally if I would be willing to provide testimonials explaining my experience with the supplements and/or provide before and after photos. They also ask for recommendations to help them provide a better service!! As I did actually have little problem after returning my items (and I am going on holiday tomorrow!) I can't be bothered to take part, but I wonder if other posters have received the same survey and will be completing them!
  • Was this helpful?
  • helen
  • helen SBID #376ac48a40
  • Posted 11/21/2012
  • I got one today I havent even looked at it yet & was going to delete it without looking as im sure they know how (Inappropriate Content Removed) they are. Think theres an option to unsubscribe at the bottom so will definitely be hitting that one!!
    Happy holidays
  • Was this helpful?
  • nikki1969
  • nikki1969 SBID #cf932145f2
  • Posted 11/21/2012
  • yep i got one too and i did fill it in honestly the first 15 question were all ok and i could not say anything bad but then they ask about what they could change to make the experience better so i told them to be more open and to not say its a free trial when it cost 75 plus postage etc and that there service operators were (Inappropriate Content Removed).
  • Was this helpful?
  • helen
  • helen SBID #376ac48a40
  • Posted 11/26/2012
  • You must call them first & get an RMA Notification number Trevorso they can apply the refund to your account - then ensure the RMA is written clearly on the front of the envelope you return in & inside with the goods your name, address & i also made sure the RMA was attached to the returned item too.
    The return address is
    vision
    PO Box 111
    Shannon
    Co. Clare
    Ireland

    Hope this is of some use
  • Was this helpful?
  • Jade
  • Jade SBID #a2fd8d6426
  • Posted 12/28/2012
  • hi the same has happened to me,i have rang a number which is on my bank statement, but a machine just says its cancelled, how could it be? i havent spoke 2 no one, does any1 no the phone number??
  • Was this helpful?
  • DianeMcG
  • DianeMcG SBID #3a1f4d06b1
  • Posted 01/02/2013
  • Just received a "sales" mail from Slimtone with their 2013 offer (which is the same as the 2012 offer) but I notice that the tiny "terms & conditions" link at the bottom reveals that your 14 day trial period starts from the day you actually place the order and they don't guarantee any sort of delivery time so you could well have very little time to cancel your "subscription". Also with this time scale I doubt very much if you would have much time to "appraise" the validity of the claims for the weight reducing properties of the product anyway. I have "unsubscribed" to any further mails from this company!
  • Was this helpful?

Do You Have a Complaint?

Add a complaint and spread the word. High volume complaints have a better chance to get their money back. Submit a report and join forces with others like you!

Submit a Complaint Now

Business Profile Summary

  • SlimTone Plus logo

Company Statistics

  • Complaint Against SlimTone Plus
  • Complaints Filed: 536
  • Reported Damages: $239,475.92
Visit Complete Company Profile

What is SBID?

SBID is a unique id code that identifies the user's computer and location. SBID is used to prevent fraudulent postings and help our community find users who create duplicate user accounts.