Craigslist.com
Complaint 126046 Details

  • Date Occurred: 06/15/2012
  • Reported Damages: $0.00

The complaint is against an online dating profile

The complaint is a listing fraud posted on public forums or sites against an anonymous entity

The complaint is mobile text spam or smishing related against an anonymous entity

The company or person contact no longer exists

International boundaries

I had house on Craigs list for rent and now there are several listing for it stating they are the land lord and want people to send them money for deposit for rent. Several people have called me and reports these scams are saying there name is James ward from Africa #336-291-3871, Another couple from New York and Reveron??
Crazy they have price listed very low and want deposit mailed to them.
Im afraid if people mail deposit they will be upset and do something to my house ?? Not knowing it was a scam..

They address on the rental property is 3230 n 94th Milwaukee,wi 53222

Do You Have a Complaint?

Submit a Complaint

Comments

  • Klowe
  • Klowe SBID #015c58b623
  • Posted 07/20/2012
  • I live in NC and he posted a home down here for rent. Same phone number but the name was under Ashley Denton. Wanted us to send a deposit and said he had relocated to Africa because of work. Said he wanted to sell the home when they were moving but his wife wanted to keep it. I even talked to him on the phone and he doesn't speak great english and the call was breaking up badly. I reported it here
    The email address they were using was ashleydenton67@yahoo.com
  • Was this helpful?
  • craighn
  • craighn SBID #3a3873cfef
  • Posted 07/20/2012
  • i called Mr Denton spoke to his wife called he emailed me the deed i verified it he is for real i even spoke to a neighbor at the home please make sure your facts are correct before calling people scam artists.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Klowe
  • Klowe SBID #015c58b623
  • Posted 07/21/2012
  • Then why is the phone number the same as the previous post and why did you type in the phone number to get to this post?
    In efforts to protect myself I requested to go though a law office. If you are fine with blindly sending money, then congrants on your new home and I hope it works out for you.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Klowe
  • Klowe SBID #015c58b623
  • Posted 07/21/2012
  • Also the sentance you posted is one run on sentance, just like the email I got back about the home. The grammar it not correct and wasn't on the email I recieved. That is also a warning sign! If he were a business man, like stated in the email, he would use a period between sentances. Like I said, if I am wrong then I am sorry and will post a follow up. It is out of my hands now.
  • Was this helpful?
  • doodabutt
  • doodabutt SBID #24ceba1456
  • Posted 09/09/2012
  • sorry my first message i copy/pasted email but it didnt post. anyway, i also received an email for a nashville location with this number attached. his name was jason truss, truss.jason@yahoo.com same email about africa and bidding on petroleum, asking me all my info. i thought it was strange.so i didnt give any of my info.
  • Was this helpful?
  • Klowe
  • Klowe SBID #c99bc1440e
  • Posted 09/09/2012
  • Please report it to your local police so they can contact the real home owner. You will need to print the Craigslist post and the email you got in return when you report it. This will also help protect other. He will probably remove the ad when he sees this post, so you may not want to wait. They put it on the news here with a list of some of the phone numbers and ads that had been reported to the police
  • Was this helpful?
  • eggman37
  • eggman37 SBID #6180fe364c
  • Posted 09/17/2012
  • Hello,

    I received your response concerning my Advertisement published on Craigslist The house is still available am the owner of the home and i bid for a portion of petroleum land a while back in West Africa and fortunately I just won the bidding so I had to move quickly down to Africa to have my company set up because I still have to rebid for it in the next 4 to 5 years. I came over here with my wife and two kids and before we got here i thought of selling the home but had to change my mind because of my wife, she preferred we had it up on the rental market I had to look for an agent, after getting one, we got a deal but later we found out that he was renting it out for a higher price than what we agreed on and i don't want an occupant that will be paying a lot and not have time for the home because of the price of the home. If you notice, you will discovered that the price we are offering is far below standard price, this is enough for you to know that we are not after the rental fee so I contacted the Agent back and requested for my keys and documents the maintenance of the home is far more important to me I know there is no way I can be sure that you are the right person to live in the house because we won't be able to see before sending you the keys and the documents to occupy the space.. But I just have a feeling that anyone who knows the values of a home should know that maintaining a home is essential, so if you believe you can take good care of the house and handle it like yours then I will be more than happy to let you rent the house i had my number roamed so you can call me on (336) 291 3871 .
    Please if you are interested in renting my house kindly provide the information below.
    PLEASE TELL US ABOUT YOURSELF
  • Was this helpful?
  • eggman37
  • eggman37 SBID #6180fe364c
  • Posted 09/17/2012
  • APPLICATION FORM
    Full Name Prefix__________________________________________________ (CELL)PHONE________________________
    Date of Birth_________________________________
    Home Phone ( )___________________ Other Phone ( )________________________
    Current Address_______________________________Apt#________ City__________________ State______ Zip________
    Reasons for Leaving Old Home____________________________Rent $__________Phone ( )____________________________
    Are you married____________________________
    How many people will be living in the house____________________________
    Do you have a pet____________________________
    Do you have a car____________________________
    Income____________________________
    Move In Date____________________________
    HOW SOON CAN YOU HAVE THE DEPOSIT PAYMENT SENT___________________________
    HOW SOON DO YOU WANT TO RECEIVE THE KEYS AND DOCUMENTS OF THE HOUSE___________________________
    Rent/Month: $900___________________________
    Deposit Payment: $800___________________________
  • Was this helpful?
  • eggman37
  • eggman37 SBID #6180fe364c
  • Posted 09/17/2012
  • Please note that you will only be able to drive by the house for now but not have a look at the interior until i have sent the keys and documents of the house to you and the requirement for getting the keys and documents of the house is a fully refundable payment, which is the security deposit.
    Please note that the deposit made is fully refundable the deposit is just to make sure that you are really interested in the home and also to hold the home for you so we don't rent it out to someone else, after receiving the keys and documents if you feel unsatisfied or uncomfortable with the interior, but i am giving you a benefit of doubt that you will love everything about this lovely home...
    I Await your response so that we can discuss on how to get the document and the keys to you. My cell phone number is (336) 291 3871 you can call or text

    Best Regards
  • Was this helpful?
  • doodabutt
  • doodabutt SBID #24ceba1456
  • Posted 09/17/2012
  • that's the one i got for a house here in nashville tn. also i have received a number more for a woman in tx that is taking care of a sick family member with cancer and another who had to move quickly and will be gone for 5 years. all of it is the same, way too nice for way too cheap and out of town. i called the real realitor and told them the house was on craigslist. they said they would take care of it but im still getting it for nearly 2/3rds of every post i respond to right now.
  • Was this helpful?

Do You Have a Complaint?

Add a complaint and spread the word. High volume complaints have a better chance to get their money back. Submit a report and join forces with others like you!

Submit a Complaint Now

Business Profile Summary

  • Craigslist.com logo

Company Statistics

  • Complaint Against Craigslist.com
  • Complaints Filed: 292
  • Reported Damages: $1,699,738.51
Visit Complete Company Profile

What is SBID?

SBID is a unique id code that identifies the user's computer and location. SBID is used to prevent fraudulent postings and help our community find users who create duplicate user accounts.